Critical Perspectives on Art Therapy

Wednesday 18 January 2023 at 18:00 to 19:30 GMT / 13:00 to 14:30 EST / 10:00 to 11:30 PST

Online (Zoom), booking via Eventbrite

Image credit: Georgette Seabrook, 1939 April 26 / unidentified photographer, Federal Art Project.

 Art therapy is a field that both sits uneasily within histories of art and is largely a conspicuous absence within critical medical humanities. Comprising three papers and a conversation with  Leah GipsonSuzanne Hudson and Elizabeth Otto, this event engages in historicizing and analyzing the practices and processes of art therapy, critically probing the early development, professionalization, underpinnings, and assumptions of the field.


Elizabeth Otto (University at Buffalo (SUNY)), “Bauhaus Teaching as Art Therapy in Friedl Dicker-Brandeis’s Work with Children.”

Leah Gipson (School of the Art Institute of Chicago), “Georgette Seabrooke Powell and the Legacy of Harlem in Art Therapy.”

Suzanne Hudson (University of Southern California), “Notes on Re-Training.”

%d bloggers like this: